Francis Ford Coppola.jpg

Photos Courtesy:SFILM

Francis Ford Coppola will present Jane Campion with The Irving M Levin Award for Film Direction; Jon Bernthal Will present the SFFILM  Special Award for Distinctive Voice to Reinaldo Marcus Green; Alice Wu will present Maggie Gyllenhaal with the Kanbar Award for Storytelling; Chris Columbus will present Oscar Isaac with the SFFILM Award for Acting.

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (December 3, 2021) SFFILM today announced the presenters for the annual 2021 SFFILM Awards Night,  Academy Award Winner Francis Ford Coppola, Jon Bernthal, Alice Wu and Chris Columbus. The presenters join the previously announced honorees Jane Campion (Irving M Levin Award for Film Direction) Reinaldo Marcus Green (SFFIL Special Award for Distinctive Voice) Maggie Gyllenhaal (Kanbar Aaward for storytelling) and Oscar Isaac (SFFILM Award for Acting) for the highly anticipated event honoring exemplary achievement in film craft. This year's celebration will take place live, on Monday, December 6, at San Francisco YBCA Forum.

The SFFILM Awards Night supports the organization's year-round work to discover and nurture the next generation of film artists, not only through the SFFILM Festival and other screenings and events, but also through its SFFILM Education and SFFILM Makers initiatives. The program recognizes the singular careers of some of the most remarkable figures in contemporary cinema with special tributes made by high profile presenters.

"We are delighted to have such exceptional artists presenting our Awards this Year. With their own bodies of extraordinary work, Jon, Chris, Francis, and Alice will be part of the evening's inspiration the next generation of storytellers that we seek to champion" said Anne Lai, Executive Director of SFFILM.

Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction: Jane Campion
Presented by: Francis Ford Coppola

Given in memory of the founder of The San Francisco International Film Festival in l967, the Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction is presented each year to one of the masters of world cinema. Past award recipients include: Chloé Zhao (2020) Marielle Heller (2019) Steve McQueen (2018) Kathryn Bigelow (2017) Mira Nair (2016) Guillermo Del Toro (2015) Richard Linklater (2014) Philip Kaufman (2013) Kenneth Branagh (2012) Oliver Stone (2011) Walter Salles (2010) Francis Ford Coppola (2009) Mike Leigh (2008) Spike Lee (2007) and Werner Herzog (2008) among others.

SFFILM Special Award for Distinctive Voice: Reinaldo Marcus Green
Presented By: Jon Bernthal

SFFILM Special Award is designed to recognize an achievement that reflects the organization's belief in the enduring power, beauty, and social impact of film. This year SFFILM wishes to highlight the work of filmmaker Reinaldo Marcus Green for his distinctive voice as a filmmaker.

KANBAR Award for Storytelling: Maggie Gyllenhaal
Presented by: Alice Wu

Named in honor of Maurice Kanbar, a longtime member of the board of directors of SFFILM a San Francisco's film commissioner, and philanthropist with a particular interest in supporting independent filmmakers, the Kanbar Award for Storytelling acknowledges the critical importance that storytelling plays in the creation of outstanding films. The award past recipients include Aaron Sorking (2020) Lulu Wang (2019) Boota Riley (2018) Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (2017) Tom McCarthy (2016) Paul Schrader (2015) Stephen Gaghan (2014) Eric Roth (2013) David Webb Peoples (2012) Frank Pierson (2011) and James Schamus (2010), among others.

SFFILM Award for acting (formerly called Peter Owens Award for Acting): Oscar Isaac                    

Presented by: Chris Columbus

SFFILM Award for Acting (formerly called The Peter J. Owens Award for Acting) has been awarded since l996 and honors a performer whose work exemplifies brilliance, independence, and integrity. Past recipients include Glenn Close, Adam Driver, Amy Adams, Kate Winslet, Ellen Burstyn, Richard Gere, Jeremy Irons, Harrison Ford, And Robin Williams, among others.

SFFILM is a nonprofit organization with a mission to champion the world's finest films and filmmakers through programs anchored in and inspired by the spirit and values of the San Francisco Bay Area. It is also the Presenter of the San Francisco International Film Festival and a year-round organization delivering events to more than 75,000 film lovers, and media education programs to 15,000 students, teachers, and families annually.  In addition to its public programs, SFFILM supports the careers of independent filmmaker from the Bay Area and beyond with grants, residencies and other career development opportunities.